Wednesday, 20 April 2011

Hillingdon & Eelmore Race 2

From the BC website: The new classification, of the Reg C, 3rd/4th category event, saw 30 riders start with 4 riders making a decisive break at about half distance. They were Ralph DeKanter , Ben Moores, Jason Humphries all from Norwood Paragon and Gareth Thomas (Kingston Wheelers). They all worked very well together and once they had a gap never looked like getting caught. The Norwood Paragon trio took the first 3 places with Ralph De Kanter running out the winner, the break finishing 1 minute ahead of the rest of the field led home by Karl Smith (Cycle Club Basingstoke).
 Four CCB riders lined up for the 2nd round of the Eelmore Series; they were Scott Oatridge, Jon Harris, Karl Smith and Jamie Fry.  Jamie had to serve a one match ban for dangerous riding the week before (see Andrew McCombe's report; so we were 3.

Another very large field and Scott attacked early to try and establish a break, Karl got on the front to try and slow things down, but Eelmore isn't slow, so that didn't last long.  Anyhow, Scott and his renegades were reeled back and most of the race went without incident.  Karl was feeling tired from the previous night’s endeavour but was still feeling strong for the sprint finish, when, presto! with 3 laps to go, a rider came down in front of him finishing his chances of any points.  Penultimate lap, Jon was getting his position and looked very good indeed, round the hairpin for the final gallop home and Jon carved out a deserved 5th place – well done Jon! 

Pics here:

No comments:

Post a Comment